Great Lakes Updates

The new book from Theodore Karamanski explains how industries and communities dependent on the Great Lakes have created tools and markers to safely navigate them.
Wed, Jun 03, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
In her latest book, “The Next Great Migration,” the science journalist Sonia Shah traces the global movements of humans today to age-old patterns in other species.
Tue, Jun 02, 2020
Via Invasive Species News
This is the second part of a four-part series on Environmental Risk in Michigan: Past, Present and Future.
Mon, Jun 01, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
The billions of years old microbes found in the sinkholes may hold the secret of how Earth went from inhabitable to habitable, sustaining plant and animal life.
Fri, May 29, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
The large invasive insect, sometimes known as the “murder hornet,” appears to have resurfaced in both British Columbia and Washington State.
Thu, May 28, 2020
Via Invasive Species News
Once as many as nine types of ciscoes roamed the Great Lakes, playing a key role in the food web.
Wed, May 27, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
This is the first part of a four-part series on Environmental Risk in Michigan: Past, Present and Future.
Tue, May 26, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
State wildlife officials have warned residents to be on the lookout for the Argentine black and white tegu, an invasive lizard species that is threatening native creatures.
Sat, May 16, 2020
Via Invasive Species News
Monitor lizards, believed to be invasive species on some Pacific islands, got there long before humans, a new study says.
Fri, May 15, 2020
Via Invasive Species News
その昆虫が米国海岸にたどり着くずっと前から、日本では、その痺れるカリカリした食感と、酒に加えられる毒のある羽音が珍重されてきた。
Fri, May 08, 2020
Via Invasive Species News