Great Lakes Updates

Get paid to gain experience reporting on the world's most important beat.
Fri, Aug 17, 2018
Via Great Lakes Echo
Jim Bailey of Infosuperior spoke with four kayakers who are paddling the perimeter of Lake Superior, and cleaning up beaches, collecting microplastics samples and sauna-hopping along the way.
Wed, Aug 15, 2018
Via Great Lakes Echo
Administration cites safety factor to justify move; Cautious auto industry response.
Mon, Aug 13, 2018
Via Great Lakes Echo
Marked water trails in this state make it easy for people to give paddling a try.
Wed, Aug 08, 2018
Via Great Lakes Echo
Microplastics detected in the suds of microbrews.
Mon, Aug 06, 2018
Via Great Lakes Echo
“What we’re doing is nothing unnatural,” said the author of a study to produce quolls that don’t like the taste of deadly toads. “It’s just matchmaking.”
Thu, Jul 26, 2018
Via Invasive Species News
The invasive plant is widespread in New York and was recently spotted for the first time in Virginia, but conservationists believe they can fight it.
Mon, Jul 02, 2018
Via Invasive Species News
Some invasive ladybugs feast on other species of ladybugs, but not as much when a kind of toxic aphid is around.
Fri, Jun 01, 2018
Via Invasive Species News
The invasive insects turned up in Pennsylvania in 2014. Now the state has placed 3,000 square miles under quarantine, and scientists worry the pest will spread.
Mon, May 21, 2018
Via Invasive Species News
The largest bat in Europe, a vulnerable species, found shelter in a city park’s trees. Then they started to turn up dead.
Thu, May 10, 2018
Via Invasive Species News