Great Lakes Updates

Commercial hunting and fishing guides would need state licenses under a proposal pending in a Michigan House committee. Supporters say that would provide additional safety for hunters and anglers if guides must carry liability insurance and know CPR and first aid.
Wed, Jan 29, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
Florida’s freshwater wonder is threatened like never before with a rising sea level as restoration efforts lag.
Mon, Jan 27, 2020
Via Invasive Species News
Cold weather stuns the lizards, which drop from trees, seemingly frozen or dead. Not to worry: The warm sun wakes them up again.
Wed, Jan 22, 2020
Via Invasive Species News
The Army Corps of Engineers is warning of damage and danger from rising Great Lakes water levels and winter storms.
Tue, Jan 21, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
A 2014 survey discovered that 19 Michigan state parks provided almost no healthy food options to visitors.
Fri, Jan 17, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
The bill would prohibit schools from stigmatizing students who owe lunch money or lack enough to buy a school meal.
Wed, Jan 15, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
The Detroit Institute of Arts is displaying photographer Jeff Gaydash’s work alongside Instagram submissions of the Great Lakes from the public in the Michigan Great Lakes exhibit.
Mon, Jan 13, 2020
Via Great Lakes Echo
Velvet worms, trapdoor spiders: Scientists worry about the fate of the nation’s many remarkable, overlooked endemic creatures.
Thu, Jan 09, 2020
Via Invasive Species News
On a flat stretch of highway in Washington State, tumbleweeds piled as high as 30 feet across an area three football fields long.
Thu, Jan 02, 2020
Via Invasive Species News
In three years, the administration has diminished the role of science in policymaking while disrupting research projects nationwide. Experts say the effects could be felt for years.
Sat, Dec 28, 2019
Via Invasive Species News